Right, Right

Eleanor Ross Taylor: Yes?

The dollar mark said
my shoe was long enough
and wide enough and happy
enough which was enough for
me. But it was not enough
for my foot. What did he care
for a happy shoe?
I gave him my left ear.
The right one I kept for
myself and in it I heard

right, right

I’m very excited about discovering this poet. After finding her on the shortlist of some prize I checked her out and loved what I found. I ordered her book tonite, in the meantime, found the above poem in the Blackbird Archives where you can also find this excellent essay on the poet,

Leave a Reply

