Something you investigate when everybody’s asleep

Stipe: Yeah. Now I think I can tell, listening to your music–this is just me as a fan, but also having done it for 31 years–I can see that you’re not a dark person, but I can see the darkness in there.

Hadreas: I’ve learned that that’s something you investigate when everybody’s asleep. You know what I mean? [laughs] Like going through my day, I try not to bother people with it, and plus it’s not like it’s always right underneath and seasoning everything that I do. I don’t know, some days it is, but–

Stipe: Yeah, but there’s a toughness, a real toughness there that I really admire, I have to say. I mean I think it makes the music. It adds another depth and another level to what you’re doing lyrically. And also melodically and the presentation, like the production that you do and blah blah blah. I’m not blowing smoke up your ass, but I mean that’s the thing with music, is that one projects oneself onto the work of someone else and it becomes yours.

Michael Stipe interviewing/talking to the wonderfully magnificent Mike Hadreas, also known as Perfume Genius (check out a live version of his songs Hood and Normal Song and of his song Dark Parts and the official video of “Hood”). Click here for part 1 of that interview. Click here for another interview on Q TV, where he also performs stuff from his first album.

Leave a Reply

