“First of all, I don’t write fantasy.”

Wow. Terry Goodkind, probably the worst successful writer of heroic fantasy, has given an interview years ago that is currently causing Twitter to titter. The interview is hilarious. Here is a direct link and here are a few choice cuts:

they range from a declaration of intellectual bankruptcy

Weymouth, MA: In your opinion who is the most must-read, cutting edge writer publishing today?

Terry Goodkind: Ayn Rand.

to plain insults

Haddonfield, NJ: Second Question – I’ve noticed similarities between your Sword of Truth series and Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series…(Black Sisterhood vs. Black Ajah; The Order vs. The Seanchan; Richard vs. Rand both discovering their powers, both have Nameless evil Gods…etc.) I’ve often voiced my suspicion that these two series might be occurring on the same world…how crazy am I?

Terry Goodkind: If you notice a similarity, then you probably aren’t old enough to read my books.

and sheer delusion

Because most fantasy is about world-building and magic, a lot of it is plotless and has no story. My primary interest is in telling stories that are fun to read and make people think. That puts my books in a genre all their own.

at least he knows his place

I think the most important author to read is Ayn Rand. Most of my reading is research for the things I’m writing about, but if I have any time to read, one of the people I like is Dean Koontz. I like his sense of life. He’s one of the few writers around today, other than me, who seems interested in writing about heroic individuals who are worthy of being heroes.

2 thoughts on ““First of all, I don’t write fantasy.”

  1. Two things:
    1. Are you on Twitter? If you are, why don’t I have your username???
    2. This interview isn’t new, as you said, and I believe it was Bjorn who first brought it to my attention in the forums. Brings fond memories of outright laughter.

  2. Pingback: A chicken that was not a chicken « shigekuni.

Leave a Reply

