Empty Dreams: A Story by Jayaprakash Satyamurthy

On the first night, I had to sleep half-sitting, my head resting on my knees and my arms wrapped around my legs to avoid rolling onto something that stank terribly and felt disgustingly warm and wet. As my head cleared, I realized it was my own vomit.

Thus starts Jayaprakash Satyamurthy’s excellent story Empty Dreams, which you can read, in full, if you click on this link. It’s highly recommended. I was blessed enough to read it in an earlier draft, and I’m stunned at how much better even it turned out to be. Read it.

3 thoughts on “Empty Dreams: A Story by Jayaprakash Satyamurthy

  1. Dream crime? Ever heard of Thought Police? Is there a half thought that’s original in the story? Or I’m supposed to be impressed by the description of a jail cell one get to see in umpteen hollywood movies, and about a kind of spider that never would make its home indoors?

  2. I suggest you consider the possibility that tools like pastiche, allusion and even parody are part of modern literature. You seem to have a very narrow notion of originality, but luckily for the story, it’s too good to be marred by that. Mr. Satyamurthy is an able wielder of these tools, because he is an excellent reader and critic of literature.

    I notice you haven’t mentioned the writing at all: Mr. Satyamurthy writes in a style that is so unique, it should even satisfy you. The mixture of halting precision and a hazy, haunting quality is very rare and quite accomplished, in my humble opinion.

    I thank you nonetheless for reading and commenting upon this story.

Leave a Reply

