Is this what love is?

from an interview with Sarah Rose Etter

What inspired Men Glass? How long were you working on it?

Chewing. Listening to a man sit next to me and chew carrots. I don’t know what happened – it was such a loud chewing that I saw the edge of madness. It made me so crazy I could feel my eyes dilate with murderlust. I just thought: “This is not how a woman can live a life. Is this what love is? Listening to someone’s gross sounds forever?”

(I’d like to answer: yes, that is part of what love is. And yes, I want to listen to Her gross sounds forever.)

Leave a Reply

