I put myself in a position where I kept failing.

It’s not as bad to me to fail at a shooter because it doesn’t mix with my identity. But it’s worse for me to fail at a very strategic game. But the thing with StarCraft is, I kept coming back to it, but I wasn’t getting any better at it, I thought. And that was very disappointing and painful. Part of me was just like, “I don’t have a knack for this game, that’s just it.”

But the experience itself was so painful that years later, whenever I lost a match on the ’net with someone, I was so upset I couldn’t bear thinking about it. And I actually wasn’t learning the sort of stuff I was supposed to be learning from the game. I was just sort of stuck in this negative loop where I wasn’t necessarily improving. And that’s an important aspect of failure. In a way, it was so important for me not to fail that I put myself in a position where I kept failing.

– Jesper Juul, author of the forthcoming The Art of Failure: On the Pain of Playing Videogames, in an interview @ Kill Screen Daily

4 thoughts on “I put myself in a position where I kept failing.

  1. So you keep trying and your self esteem actually suffers? I just give up on sport. I’m not a physically talented person (well, I’m not that bad in the sack), and that’s it. I shrug and move on.

  2. Well, I definitely stopped trying at some point. I can accept that physically I lack talent, and I lack the patience that training entails. Ideally you have both, but you certainly need one of the two to do well at sports. I’m ok with not doing well at physical exercises.

Leave a Reply

